Speedy (everything but the kitchen sink) satay

The secrets of my satay sauce

The secrets of my satay sauce

As regular readers (all two of you – hi mum, hi dad!) will now know about my cooking, I tend to use whatever I have to hand. I’m not the sort of cook who will go out shopping especially for a recipe. I look in the cupboards, I look in the fridge, and I cook with my wares. I suppose I am like a traditional hunter gatherer in that respect – except my hunting ground extends from my kitchen to my patio.

And so it was with this in mind that I came up with this gorgeous satay recipe. It’s not remotely authentic but it does taste really good and can be adapted to whatever you manage to hunt down. As this was an (admittedly successful) experiment my measurements are very loose. Perhaps don’t follow the recipe verbatim but use it as a rough guide, inspiration for your own take on the sauce. Let me know what you think and if you manage to come up with something better from your kitchen bounty!

Speedy pork satay with broad beans
(serves two)

2 pork rib steaks (mine were from my meat box from Riverford this week)
Handful of blanched almonds
Handful of sesame seeds
1 tbsp creamed coconut
2 tbsps tahini
2 tbsps Thai Taste Chilli and Garlic Dressing (this is delicious just poured over noodles)
1 tbsp toasted sesame oil
1 tbsp Discovery Green Jalapeño Relish
1 large red chilli
Water, to loosen
Noodles
1 tbsp vegetable oil
2 handfuls of freshly podded broad beans (again I used ones from my Riverford veg box – hopefully my garden will have its own bounty soon!)

1. Slice the pork steaks into thin, bite-size pieces and place in a bowl.

2. Place the rest of the ingredients, except for the broad beans, into a food processor. I’ve just got a shiny new Magimix and used the ‘mini bowl’ but a hand-held blender will work just as well. Blend and add enough water to make the mix go thick and creamy. Check the mixture is to your taste – i.e. it might need some salt, or an acid like lime juice, or even some sugar – mine, said Goldilocks, was just right though.

3. Add the mix to the pork slices and marinade for at least 30 mins to 1 hr (but the longer the better). When ready to serve, cook the noodles in boiling water, according to packet instructions. Meanwhile heat the vegetable oil in a wok and add the pork pieces and fry over a hot heat. When the meat is sealed add any remaining marinade and the broad beans and half a cup of water to loosen the sauce to the consistency of pouring cream.

4. Reduce the heat to medium and let the sauce blip away until the pork is cooked and tender and the sauce thickened and intensified in flavour. Drain the noodles and serve with the delicious satay pork! Enjoy.

3 comments
  1. gillbla said:

    Don’t do yourself down! I read every time you post- you are in my google feed so it tells me when there’s something new. I like the “use what’s in your cupboard” approach, though I think yours are rather more usefully stocked than mine…mine feature a lot more random baking items and a lot less useful food items.

    • I seem to collect spices, herbs and condiments so I am always trying to find ways to use them up! Thanks for the comment.

  2. Mandy said:

    This sounds delicious I love broad beans but would not have thought to use them in this way. I will definitely try it.

Leave a Reply

