Hello world!

Mushroom and chicken risotto

I’ve finally succumbed. TOH has moved to the big smoke… well Leyton… and I have been left in the Cotswolds twiddling my culinary thumbs. And so Costwoldcapers was born. For the next, I don’t know how many, weeks/months/years I will be chronicling my foodie adventures from recipes to reviews and general news on food and drink. Bear with me, I’m new to this blogging malarkey and welcome any feedback/ help you may have.

So, first things first. Dinner. After two-and-a-half years of no mushrooms (TOH isn’t a fan) I cooked a mushroom risotto. This has to be one of my favourite comfort meals. Warming, earthy, indulgent – it ticks all the boxes. Mine isn’t your classic fungi rice but I rather like it nonetheless.

So, here’s what you need for four generous servings (measurements are rough):

250g arborio risotto rice

250g chestnut mushrooms

250ml glass red wine

2 tbsp dried porcini mushrooms

4 tbsp boiling water

Chicken stock (hot)

Shredded roast chicken

tarragon

butter

olive oil

1 small white onion

1 garlic glove

Crème Fraiche

Pecorino

1. Cut the mushrooms roughly (into quarters) and fry them in a combination of butter and olive oil until they satisfyingly squeak and brown all over. When cooked remove from the pan. Meanwhile soak the dried mushrooms in the boiling water.

2. In the same pan add your chopped onions and garlic and fry gently until translucent, then add your rice and stir until completely coated in the oil, and the rice grains are hot to touch. Strain the soaked mushrooms and pour the mushroom tea onto the rice. Chop up the remaining soaked mushrooms finely and add to the rice.

3. Add your wine and stir continuously on a medium heat until the wine is absorbed into the rice. Add a ladle of hot stock (I was cooking stock at the time I made my risotto so just ladled straight from the pan) and stir again until absorbed. Continue this process until the rice has nearly doubled inside and when bitten into that chalkiness has almost gone.

4. Add the roast chicken and cooked mushrooms, crème fraiche and cheese and stir until molten and voluptuous. Add some chopped tarragon. Leave to rest for a few minutes (pour yourself a glass of vino, feed the cat or some nonsense) and serve.

5. Enjoy, watching dribble on TV.

Leave a Reply

